printUse ctrl + p to print the page

ISSD National Seed Sector Assessment Briefing Notes

Eight countries, namely, Burundi, Ethiopia, Ghana, Mali, Malawi, Mozambique, Uganda and Zambia, have participated in national seed sector assessments conducted as part of the ISSD Africa programme (Phase II). Those participating countries had either completed their first ISSD assessment, or had reviewed the earlier assessment carried out in an earlier phase of the ISSD Africa (2010/11), by September 2012. Each country’s national consultant, in consultation with national task forces, has characterized the different seed systems identified. The national seed sector assessment had the following objectives:

  • Characterize, document and assess within a national context, seed systems, seed programmes and seed related policies
  • Apply the integrated seed sector development concept in creating a better understanding of the interface between practices, programmes and policies in the seed sector